The second match of the India Women vs England Women ODI series was played at Lord’s, known as the ‘home of cricket’. When the two teams last faced each other at this ground, Deepti Sharma’s mankading caused a stir. Her act remained in the news for a long time. This time, England opener Tammy Beaumont’s act of ‘obstructing the field’ is in the news. The Indian players appealed for this, but the third umpire did not give her out.
Tammy Beaumont was involved in an incident of ‘fielding interference’ in the fifth over of England’s innings. Beaumont took a shot at Deepti Sharma’s delivery which was caught by Jemimah Rodrigues diving and throwing it straight to the wicketkeeper. When Tammy Beaumont, who was trying to run, saw that Jemimah had caught the ball, she immediately decided to return inside the crease. Tammy Beaumont had reached inside the crease, but when the throw was coming towards her, she tried to stop it by putting on her pad.
The Indian players appealed after seeing Tammy Beaumont do this, after which the on-field umpires discussed and referred the decision to the third umpire. The third umpire found that Tammy Beaumont had reached one of her feet inside the crease when she tried to pad the ball, due to which she was declared not out.
However, there is no rule that a batsman is free to deliberately obstruct the fielding once he is inside the crease. Law 37.1.1 of the Conditions of Play states, “If a batsman, except in the circumstances of Law 37.2, and while the ball is in play, deliberately attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding team by word or action, he shall be dismissed for obstructing the fielding.”
37.1.2 If a striker, except in the circumstances of Article 37.2, while receiving a ball bowled by the bowler, deliberately hits the ball without holding the bat, he is guilty of obstructing the field. This rule shall apply whether it is the first strike, the second strike or any subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend to both playing the ball and hitting the ball more than once in the defence of one’s wicket.